The Atlantic Council of Finland has a Chair, two Vice-Chairs, a Board of Directors and a Secretary General.

The first Chairman of the Council was Minister (Hon.), Ambassador Mr. Jaakko Iloniemi (1999-2001). He was succeeded by Minister (Hon.), Ambassador Mr. Paavo Rantanen (2002-2004) and Director of the Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA, Dr. Risto E. J. Penttilä (2005-2008). 


B O A R D   O F   D I R E C T O R S   2 0 2 3

Chair of the Board

Mrs. Liisa Jaakonsaari, Minister (Hon.)


Vice-Chairs of the Board

Mr. Pertti Salolainen, Minister (Hon.), Ambassador

Mr. Jari Haapiainen, Senior Adviser in EU, Foreign, Security and Defence Policy, Parliamentary Group of the Centre Party of Finland


Members of the Board                 

Ms. Piritta Asunmaa, Director General, Political Department, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland

Mr. Niclas L. von Bonsdorff, Lieutenant Colonel, Commandant, International Centre of the Finnish Defence Forces FINCENT

Dr. Tuomas Forsberg, Professor, Director at the Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies, University of Helsinki

Mr. Atte Harjanne, MP, Parliament of Finland

Mr. Janne Kuusela, Director General, Defence Policy Director, Ministry of Defence of Finland

Dr. Jarno Limnéll, MP, Professor of Practice, Cyber Security, Aalto University

Ms. Laura Saarikoski, Editor in Chief, Newspaper Helsingin Sanomat

Ms. Suvi-Anne Siimes, Managing Director, Finnish Pension Alliance TELA

Ms. Henna Virkkunen, Member of the European Parliament

Mr. Stefan Wallin, Senior Advisor, Former Minister of Defence of Finland


Secretary General

Ms. Terhi Suominen, M.Pol.Sc.